WIP Round-Up

Hello, my name is Tiffany and I have a problem with starting too many knitting project… “Hi Tiffany!”

Tonight I decided to pull out all of my WIPs and take stock of what’s on the needles.  Warning: Long, picture filled post to follow.  Before we get started on individual projects, a picture of the pile of project bags.  [Disclaimer: Some of these WIPs are really difficult to photograph as they’re scrunched up on the needles, so please forgive the poor quality of some of the images.]

wpid-20141106_212340.jpg

 

Now, presented in no particular order, all (ok, most, there may be a few more WIPs/UFOs around the house somewhere, but this is the majority of them) of my current projects.

wpid-20141106_214041.jpgwpid-20141106_213109.jpgwpid-20141106_213017.jpg

(from left to right)

1. Pattern: Vanilla sock

Yarn: Biscotte & Cie Felix in Cupcake B

Notes: This is the first sock of the pair and I’m almost to the toe decreases.  Using this sock as a trial to figure out my sock knitting gauge and formula for betting fitting socks for myself. (This will have a devoted blog post at some point in the near future)

2. Pattern: Favorite Scarf Ever by Lisa Bruce

Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere in colorway Celebrating the Games.  This was the February 2014 Loopy Ewe Celebrations Colorway in honor of the Winter Olympics

Notes: Enjoying the pattern and knitting with this yarn a lot!  The Smooshy with Cashmere feels heavenly, so soft and squishy and is perfect for a scarf like this.  The colors are great in the pattern.  Definitely something I’m looking forward to finishing and wearing.

3. Pattern: Dragonstone by Laura Aylor

Yarn: MadTosh Merino Light in colorway Butter and Dragonfly Fibers Pixie in Grey Wind.  I actually won this yarn as a kit to make this pattern from a KAL giveaway from Laura Aylor (the designer)

Notes: Almost at the finish line on this one.  The rows at the end are sooooooo long though so I can only do one or two at a time before wanting to poke my eyes out with the needles.   I need to weigh the remaining yarn to see how much more is left and determine how many more repeats I can do before starting the bind-off.

 

wpid-20141106_213333.jpgwpid-20141106_212545.jpg

4. Pattern: My own original pattern.  Based on a traditional hourglass quilt, this will eventually be seamed together to make an afghan.

Yarn: Lorna’s Laces mini-skeins for the colored yarns and The Loopy Ewe Solid Series in colorway Ivory

Notes: I’m really in love with this pattern and feel quite clever for figuring out the seamless construction of each square.  This is a project that I work on here and there, although I really should add some structured time to get it done so that I can finish the larger piece and publish the pattern.

5. Pattern: POP Blanket by TinCanKnits

Yarn: Noro Kureyon for the colored and Cascade Ecological Wool for the cream

Notes: Again another blanket project that I’m loving, but has been neglected for a while.  I’ve only finished these two squares (they’re unblocked, so are curling in on themselves for the time being).  They go pretty quickly, so I just need to focus on this and it shouldn’t take too terribly long to finish if I can devote time each week to a couple of squares.

 

wpid-20141106_214218.jpgwpid-20140913_223727.jpgwpid-20141106_213553.jpg

6. Pattern: Matchmaker by Martina Behm

Yarn: MadTosh Merino Light in Seawash and Oceana.  The blue is actually much brighter and more teal that it appears in the picture.

Notes: I love the way that TML feels when knit up – the singly ply makes a great garter stitch fabric that is very soft.  I don’t, however, love the knitting process as much.  For some reason, I have a more difficult time knitting single ply yarns and it goes slower for me than other yarn.  But this is a great pattern and one where I’ll enjoy the finished product, so I just need to get it done.

7. Pattern: Fingerless Fair Isle mitts – base pattern by Susan B. Anderson; I put together the fair isle motifs

Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash in colorways Navy and Winter White

Notes: I made the first mitt of this pair during the Fair Isle class I took with Susan at Loopy Fall Fling.  Had a great time putting together the Fair Isle motifs to create my own unique mitt, so I’m looking forward to knitting the second one soon.

8. Pattern: Shawl That Jazz by Samantha Roshak

Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Twisted in Puck’s Mischief

Notes: This is my oldest WIP by far.  I probably started knitting this about 4-5 years ago and it just got shoved in the bag and forgotten.  I pulled it out again recently and starting working on it, remembering how much I love the squishiness of the fabric and the gorgeous colors.  Once I finish this, it will be a great everyday shawl to throw on when I need just a little bit of extra warmth.

 

wpid-20141106_212912.jpgwpid-20141106_212731.jpg

9. Pattern: Nuvem by Martina Behm

Yarn: Wollmeise Lace in colorway Spice Market

Notes: This is an impossible WIP to photograph while still on the needles because it just looks like a pile of yarn vomit.  But I can’t wait until this is finished so that I can wear it.  The colors aren’t showing up correctly in this photo either, it’s a deeper fall leaves color.

10. Pattern: Celestarium by Audrey Nicklin

Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere in colorway Black Parade

Notes: Another WIP that has been neglected for far too long.  It’s a fairly straightforward knit, mostly stockinette in the round with the occasional yarn over and bead to denote the stars.  When the shawl is finished, it is a replica of the northern hemisphere night sky with all of the constellations.

 

wpid-img_20141019_113955.jpg

11. Pattern: Eugenia’s mittens by Mollie Woodworth

Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash in colorway Purple Heather

Notes: This is my mitten project for Loopy Academy.  The first one knit up really quickly over two evenings, so I’m looking forward to knocking out the second one soon.

 

So that’s it (mostly) – 11 projects on the go.  Actually not as bad as I thought it was.  And some of them are very close to completion, so I’ll knock them out fairly quickly.  Since it’s not as many as I thought, maybe I should find something else new to cast on 😉

6 thoughts on “WIP Round-Up

  1. That is an impressive collection of projects! On the other end of the spectrum there is me, who won’t allow myself to cast on a new project until I’ve finished the last one. Which actually means that sometimes I’m so disillusioned with a project that I stop knitting altogether for months on end.

Leave a Reply

